While its come to Bussiness Support caadvocatecs.com is your partner


What is a Digital Signature Certificate? 

Digital Signature Certificates also known by the name of DSC, work the same as the physical or paper certificates. The only difference is that they are in electronic format and can be presented electronically.  If you buy a digital signature online, then they can be used for various purposes such as:

To prove and acknowledge one’s identity

To sign the documents electronically without any need of pen paperwork and moreover, the electronic documents are to be signed digitally. 

To able to use or access services and information which needs authentication over the internet. 

To authenticate and identify the sender and receiver of a message being sent.

They can also be used to provide security to our transactions by maintaining absolute privacy of the data which is shared.


These digital signatures can easily be transported and are unique, which means that they cannot be copied or changes. Moreover, they allow us to know about the integrity of the document which has to/has been sent. 


The licensed CA or the Certifying Authority is a person who is responsible for the issuance of the digital signature and who has been granted the license to do so under Section 24 of the Indian IT-Act 2000.


Types of Digital Signature Certificates:

There are namely 3 digital signatures classes which one must know about. These are mentioned below and can be chosen as per the requirements. 


Class 1 Certificates: These types of certificates which are issued to an individual or private subscribers. 


Class 2 Certificates: This class of certificate is issued to the are issued to the director/signatory authorities of the comPANies so that they can do the e-filing pROCess with the ROC.  


Class 3 Certificates: These certificates are issued to the highest level authorities. It is provided to those who have to be present themselves in front of the Registration Authority. 


Documents required by Foreign Organizations or NRIs for DSC:

The following are the documents which are required by the foreign organisations and the NRIs are mentioned below:

An attested copy of applicant’s passport.

If the person is not in the native country then attested copy of VISA.

If from India, then an attested copy of Resident Permit certificate.

Government-issued address proof (self-attested)

Get the Best Price For Your Service

Select State

Select Ratings

Search By Name/Location


Get an instant best price for your services

FAQ - Frequently asked questions

What are the different types of Digital Signatures and their uses?

There are three types of DSCs 1. Class I type is used only for securing email communication 2. Class II type is used for Company or LLP Incorporation, IT Return E-Filing, Obtaining DIN or DPIN and filing other forms with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Income Tax Department 3. Class III type is used mainly for E-Tendering and for participating in E-Auctions For most business compliance, Class II digital signature suffices.

I purchased my DSC in 2015. What will be the validity of the digital signature?

Digital Signatures usually come with a validity of one or two years. The validity of the DSC can be renewed once the term of the previous DSC expires. Under the present plan, you get DSC with the validity of 2 years.

My DSC expired last year. Will my DSC be renewed under the same plan?

Renewal of DSC is not part of the plan. For that, you will need to buy the DSC plan at the applicable rates. It is mandatory to inform the govt. authorities about the expiry of the old DSC and issue of a new one.

Where will the DSC be sent once procured?

Digital signature will be sent to the Indian address. If the same is to be sent outside India, charges for the same to be separately paid on actuals.